Staff

Staff 2017-04-24T15:46:03+00:00

department-head-planning-jeff-bergmanJeff Bergman has served as City of Columbus – Bartholomew County Planning Director since the fall of 2004. Jeff grew up in Clinton, Iowa and moved to Indiana to attend Ball State University.  Jeff is a graduate of Ball State’s College of Architecture & Planning with a bachelor  and a professional degree in community planning.  Prior to joining the Columbus – Bartholomew County staff, Jeff was an Associate with Indianapolis-based Ratio Architects, where he facilitated community planning projects in cities, towns, and counties across Indiana.  Jeff’s prior employment also includes roles as Planning Director for the City of Franklin, Indiana and Assistant Planning Director for Johnson County, Indiana.

The Planning Department staff has a total of 8 members.  The staff is active in numerous community organizations and always welcomes an opportunity to speak with groups and individuals about community issues.

Department Staff – Organizational Chart (PDF)

Jeff Bergman, AICP – jbergman@columbus.in.gov
Planning Director 

Melissa Begley, AICP – mbegley@columbus.in.gov
Assistant Director 

Laura Thayer, AICP – lthayer@columbus.in.gov
MPO Director / Transportation Planner 

Emilie Pinkston, AICP – epinkston@columbus.in.gov
Senior Planner 

Allie Keen, AICP  akeen@columbus.in.gov
Senior Planner 

Charles Russell – crussell@columbus.in.gov
Associate Planner 

Ashley Klingler – aklingler@columbus.in.gov
Associate Planner 

Janie Meek – jmeek@columbus.in.gov
Office Administrator