Jeff Bergman has served as City of Columbus – Bartholomew County Planning Director since the fall of 2004. Jeff grew up in Clinton, Iowa and moved to Indiana to attend Ball State University.  Jeff is a graduate of Ball State’s College of Architecture & Planning with dual bachelor degrees in community planning.  Prior to joining the Columbus – Bartholomew County staff, Jeff was an Associate with Indianapolis-based Ratio Architects, where he facilitated community planning projects in cities, towns, and counties across Indiana.  Jeff’s prior employment also includes roles as Planning Director for the City of Franklin, Indiana and Assistant Planning Director for Johnson County, Indiana.

The Planning Department staff has a total of 8 members and includes both Bartholomew County natives and those who have relocated to the area.  The staff is active in numerous community organizations and always welcomes an opportunity to speak with groups and individuals about community issues.

Department Staff - Organizational Chart (PDF)

Jeff Bergman, AICP
Planning Director 

Melissa Begley, AICP
Assistant Director 

Laura Thayer, AICP
MPO Director / Transportation Planner 

Emilie Pinkston, AICP
Senior Planner 

Allie Keen, AICP -
Senior Planner 

Charles Russell
Associate Planner 

Ashley Klingler
Associate Planner 

Sondra Bohn -
Office Administrator

Boards & Commissions

Membership information for City of Columbus and Bartholomew County Boards and Commissions is provided below.  Please contact the Planning Department for Edinburgh / Bartholomew / Columbus Joint District membership information.

All highlighted links are PDF documents

City of Columbus Plan Commission Membership

City of Columbus Board of Zoning Appeals Membership  

City of Columbus Plat Committee Membership

Bartholomew County Plan Commission Membership

Bartholomew County Board of Zoning Appeals Membership

Bartholomew County Plat Committee Membership

Ethics Standards

All who participate in the process of community planning, including Planning Department staff members, Plan Commission members, Board of Zoning Appeals members, and other elected and appointed officials, are encouraged by the American Planning Association (APA) to adhere to the following: 
APA Ethical Principles in Planning

In addition, those staff members who are certified as members of the American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP) are required to adhere to the following: 
AICP Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct

©2017 City of Columbus Indiana | James D. Lienhoop, Mayor | Contact Us | Site Map