On Tuesday, March 20, 2018, the Columbus City Council reappointed three Human Rights Commissioners to three-year terms including Greg Lewis, Tony McClendon, and John Stroh.

Commissioner Greg Lewis was first appointed to the Commission in 2005, and he currently works as the chair of the social studies department at Columbus East High School and Central Middle School. He is the liaison to the Columbus Area Multi-Ethic Organization, and he is well-known for his costumed portrayals of historic figures, including a different president each year since 1997 on Presidents’ Day.

Commissioner Stroh was first appointed to the Commission in 2006 and is engaged in the practice of law at Sharpnack, Bigley, Stroh, & Washburn, LLP. He has a long commitment to social justice, working as a church youth leader, school volunteer, professional actor, juvenile probation officer, U.S. Postal employee, volunteer Project Peace presenter, and volunteer lawyer for Legal Aid. Commissioner John Stroh was recently elected as the chairperson of the Human Rights Commission during its annual elections during the Commission’s monthly meeting on February 28, 2018. He will transition into his role as chairperson effective April 01, 2018.

Commissioner Tony McClendon was appointed to the Commission in 2005, and he works at BCSC as the director of multicultural diversity. He is also a pastor at Faith Ministries and has been active in various coaching roles within BCSC.

The City of Columbus Municipal Code states that the City Council shall appoint persons residing in Bartholomew County to serve on the Human Rights Commission for three (3)-year, renewable terms, “serving without compensation and broadly representative of the community’s diversity.” For over twenty (20) years, City Council has chosen an open application process for the Human Rights Commission. Any member of the community who wishes to serve on the Commission may fill out an application. Applications are then reviewed by the City Council member serving as a liaison to the Human Rights Commission. The current City Council liaison is Tim Shuffett.

The City Council expresses appreciation for the Commissioners’ commitment to public service and willingness to volunteer as a Commissioner.