department-head-Aida-Ramirez (1)

Aida Ramirez, Director

Aida Ramirez joined the Human Rights Commission in November of 2013 as the Deputy Director.  Following the retirement of former Director Lorraine Smith, Ms. Ramirez took the position of Director in July 2014.

Ms. Ramirez received her Juris Doctorate from the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law in Indianapolis and obtained her undergraduate and graduate degrees at Purdue University in West Lafayette.  Prior to joining the Commission, Ms. Ramirez worked as a Judicial Law Clerk to the Honorable Louis F. Rosenberg, Judge of Marion County Circuit Court, via funding by an Indiana Supreme Court Grant.  Ms. Ramirez worked with judicial officers to increase access to justice in the Marion County Small Claims Courts by implementing the 2012 Indiana Court of Appeals Task Force Recommendations.  Ms. Ramirez’s selected accomplishments include increasing access to the courts for persons with limited English proficiency by translating documents, increasing access for persons with physical and hearing impairments, drafting uniform court forms, drafting a pro se litigant manual, and providing assistance in drafting local Marion County Small Claims Rules.

Prior to law school, Ms. Ramirez acquired extensive experience in academia at Purdue University, working both as a lecturer and a graduate assistant for various departments on campus.  While a graduate student, she worked as a Project Coordinator of the Purdue Student Wellness Office and managed a $300,000 U.S. Department of Education grant to prevent high-risk drinking among first-year students.  In 2011, Ms. Ramirez competed in the Honorable Robert H. Staton Moot Court Competition and was named to the Order of the Barristers.  She also received the Larry W. Suciu Windfall Award, the Norman Lefstein Pro bono Award of Excellence, the Betty Nelson Skilled Leader Award, and was a 1999 recipient of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Award in Lake County, Indiana.  Her volunteer work and activities include pro bono with the Indiana State Bar Association Young Lawyers Section, volunteer Judge for Moot Court Competition, and member of the Health Law Society.

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 9.00.26 AMMolly A. Connor, Deputy Director

Molly Connor joined the Human Rights Commission as the department’s Deputy Director on August 15, 2014. Ms. Connor is a recent graduate of Hanover College, where she double majored in English and political science with a concentration in the Business Scholars Program. At Hanover, Ms. Connor worked as a writing and speech tutor for the Hanover College Learning Center. Ms. Connor also completed two academic internships with the Volunteer Lawyers Project in Cincinnati, Ohio, and the Campbell County Attorney’s office in northern Kentucky. As part of her commitment to volunteerism, Ms. Connor participated in the 7th Grade Mentors Program at Hanover College, which was designed to connect at-risk youth to college mentors, thereby decreasing the high school drop-out rate and impacting the efforts of poverty.

Ms. Connor was also a mentor to first-year college students. Additionally, Ms. Connor was the recipient of an endowment by Dr. Dorothy Bucks that facilitated a month-long study abroad program in Italy. Some of Ms. Connor’s achievements include being the past president of the Alpha Lambda Delta honor society; presenting a section of her senior thesis at the Butler University Undergraduate Research Conference; being a recipient of the Hanover College Alumni Senior Award for exemplary scholarship, character, and leadership; and graduating cum laude.

Human Rights Commission

NameTermExpiresAppointed By
Wan Baba3 Years3/31/20City Council
Annette Barnes3 Years3/31/22City Council
Sondra Bolte3 Yeras3/31/22City Council
Trena Carter3 Years3/31/20City Council
Richard Gold3 Years3/31/22City Council
Joy King3 Years3/31/20City Council
Gregory S. Lewis3 Years3/31/21City Council
Gil Palmer3 Years3/31/20City Council
Claudia Sanchez-Davila2 Years3/31/21City Council
Matt Souza3 Years3/31/22City Council
John Stroh *3 Years3/31/21City Council
Attorney - Mary Stroh
City Council Liaison: Tim Shuffett
Meet: Last Wednesday of each month, 4:30 p.m. (except for December) in City Hall Council Chambers

*Denotes Chairperson of Board/Commission City Council

2019 Officers

Chairperson – John Stroh
Vice Chairperson – Matt Souza
Secretary – Annette Barnes
Treasurer – Trena Carter

Apply here to be a Commissioner.