department-head-planning-jeff-bergmanJeff Bergman has served as City of Columbus – Bartholomew County Planning Director since the fall of 2004. Jeff grew up in Clinton, Iowa and moved to Indiana to attend Ball State University.  Jeff is a graduate of Ball State’s College of Architecture & Planning with a bachelor  and a professional degree in community planning.  Prior to joining the Columbus – Bartholomew County staff, Jeff was an Associate with Indianapolis-based Ratio Architects, where he facilitated community planning projects in cities, towns, and counties across Indiana.  Jeff’s prior employment also includes roles as Planning Director for the City of Franklin, Indiana and Assistant Planning Director for Johnson County, Indiana.

The Planning Department staff has a total of 9 members.  The staff is active in numerous community organizations and always welcomes an opportunity to speak with groups and individuals about community issues.

Department Staff – Organizational Chart (PDF)

Janie Meek 
Office Administrator
E-mail: jmeek@columbus.in.gov
Phone: 812.376.2554

Jeff Bergman, AICP 
Planning Director
E-mail: jbergman@columbus.in.gov
Phone: 812.376.2555

Melissa Begley, AICP 
Assistant Director
E-mail: mbegley@columbus.in.gov
Phone: 812.376.2558

Laura Thayer, AICP 
MPO Director / Transportation Planner
E-mail: lthayer@columbus.in.gov
Phone:  812.376.2557

Emilie Pinkston, AICP 
Senior Planner
E-mail: epinkston@columbus.in.gov
Phone: 812.376.2577

Chelsea Cottingham
Floodplain Manager
E-mail: ccottingham@columbus.in.gov
Phone: 812.376.2574

Ashley Beckort 
Senior Planner
E-mail: ashleybeckort@columbus.in.gov
Phone: 812.376.2553

Stephen Hughes
Associate Planner
E-mail: shughes@columbus.in.gov
Phone: 812.376.2551

Tyler Hauck
Associate Planner
E-mail: thauck@columbus.in.gov
Phone: 812.376.2556