Robert N. Stewart Bridge in Columbus, Indiana

Please review this important information:
COVID-19 Operating Procedures – Updated: Oct. 21, 2021

Questions? Please contact us:  Staff Contact Information

The City of Columbus – Bartholomew County Planning Department provides both long-range community planning and current development review services for the City of Columbus and Bartholomew County.  The Planning Department also provides zoning and subdivision control administration services for the Town of Hartsville and the Edinburgh / Bartholomew / Columbus Joint District Plan Commission.  The Planning Department is a companion agency to the Bartholomew County Department of Technical Code Enforcement which provides building permit and inspection services for Columbus and Bartholomew County.

The mission of the Planning Department is (1) to assist the development community and the public in interpreting and applying land use regulations and processes, (2) to provide land use and development information to local officials and the public, (3) to facilitate public discussion of development, land use, and other community issues.

Select a Planning Jurisdiction

The following link provides an overview of the Planning Department, the Comprehensive Plans, and Zoning and Subdivision Control regulations:

Planning in Columbus & Bartholomew County (10.25.11)

View Public Notices in a larger map.